The Parasite

You supply me the needs for my existence.

I feed off of you. I take a great portion of the fruits of your labor. And you remain silent while I do this. I force you to comply with all my demands and laws, and you think you’re a good citizen for obeying. I restrict and regulate the interactions you have with your fellow countrymen and you think that I’m protecting you. I have a monopoly over the currency you earn, and I devalue it year after year to benefit me. At the expense of you. I control the curriculum that your kids learn from. I teach children a version of history that makes them crave me in the future. I have their minds in the palm of my hand from the day you surrender them to me. I get to decide if what I’m doing is lawful or not. And you buy it. I trick your sons and daughters into joining my ranks to fight my wars which inflate my power. And when I fight these beneficial wars, I restrict your freedom at home. And you don’t mind. You defend me still. Your kids pledge to me in classrooms every morning. You sing hymns to me before sporting events. You love and worship me. You look to me to solve all your hardships. And sometimes I do, because I know I’ll have you for life. I give your hard-earned money to people who don’t work, because they help keep me in power. I give your money to powerful corporations who I work with to keep you highly misinformed. You can’t even begin to imagine a world without me. I control your mind and your heart.  And that little minority out there who knows all this, I will attempt to destroy. But I don’t have to, because you’ll do it for me. You will defend me until your dying day. I’m your master and you’re my willing slave. And you believe yourself noble for this. The funny thing is, you think that you’re free. And you brag about this freedom that you think you have. It’s amusing. But in all truth, without you, I couldn’t exist.

.

One thought on “The Parasite

Leave a Reply

