I Hate War

I hate war,
not because I’m a deluded
fantasizer who believes in a
utopian world of lollipops and rainbows.
No, far from it.

I understand the complexity
of human nature and the inevitable conflicts
that arise. I understand sadness and hate.
I understand ego and pride. I know that people
are just not good to each other. I do.

But you see—I hate war because war is bullshit.

I hate war because of whom it benefits
at the cost of the young it sacrifices.

I hate war for the devilishly evil it forces us to inflict upon others.

I hate the zealous nationalism that war evokes,
causing a negation of moral accountability,
even for the worst of crimes.

I hate war because innocent civilians
are killed in greater numbers than so-called enemies.

I hate war for rarely being waged in self-defense.
I hate war because of the lies and propaganda it conveys to people.

I hate war for the families it destroys. For the
pregnant woman who is bombed in her sleep. For the little boy playing
soccer in the street.

I hate war for the deceptive patriotism it claims. For the flag-wavers
intoxicated on ignorance, parades and anthems.

I hate war for the questions people are scared to ask. For its
oblivious and passive support.

I hate the pretentious moralism people inject into their argument for war.

I hate war for its death of little children who are often burned alive, shot or starved.
I hate war for the perpetual hatred it rouses in the hearts of people.
I hate war because the state loves war. For war is the health of the state.
I hate war for its dubious motives and its ambiguous results.
I hate war for its inevitable destruction of life and liberty.
I hate war for the massive debt it plunges on the people.

I hate history books that celebrate the biggest warmongers
and rarely mention the peacemakers.
I hate that the most admired leaders are ones
who’ve initiated the biggest slaughters.
I hate war for its facility to take away freedom
in the name of fighting for it.

I hate war for its terrorism.
I hate war for its maiming and death.
I hate war for its mass graves filled with good, honest souls.

I hate war
and I’m already against the next one.

Leave a Reply

